Elmora Youth League is fortunate to have a great team of volunteers. We thank all of our dedicated volunteers for their service. Please join us in congratulating our recent Coach and Volunteer Award Winners

## Carlos DaCosta Coach of the Year Award

- 2022 Maria Mederios Since 2015, Maria has stepped up to volunteer and manage a team for the league She sometime takes two teams under her guidance. We actually had parents complain that Maria schedules too many practices. That alone is a tribute to her dedication to the players of our league. Thank you, Maria, for your role in our league and our sport.
- 2021 Michael Farinha took our Senior Softball players to a State Tournament and the team went home with the 1<sup>st</sup> Softball State Championship in NJ Senior League tournament. Mike managed his brother's team in 1999 and he has been with us since then. He started out as a player back in the 80's. Mike's is a dedicated member of the EYLL Board since 2017. He puts in many hours each week getting our fields in to shape. Iron Mike is why EYLL is so successful.
- 2020 Reinaldo Cruz Jr Coach Rey managed both a Minor and Major Baseball division championship team in this crazy Covid year. Rey has brought the NJSP to many of our events and the children do enjoy seeing the Troopers. His EYLL coaching began in 2016. Our league is blessed to have such a dedicated volunteer.

This award is given out every year to honor the memory of Coach Carlos DaCosta. Carlos was an EYL Coach who was lost on September 11, 2001

## Past DaCosta Award Winners

2022 – Maria Mederios	2012 – Emile Vega
2021 – Michael Farinha	2011 – Victor Alvarez
2020 – Rey Cruz Jr.	2010 – David Cardona
2019 – Jairo Labrador	2009 – Paul Gruber
2018 – Jose Flores	2008 – Gabe Barrueco
2017 – Lou Aponte	2007 – Joe Torres
2016 – Jose Rojas	2006 – Pedro Pons & Kevin Rodriguez
2015 – Ray Bally	2005 – Dennis Connor
2014 – Efrain Correa	2004 – Joe Sake & Jim Obergfell
2013 – Rob Griffith	2003 – Bob Cowan
	2002 – Al Marsal

## Volunteer of the Year Award

George O'Grady was an Elmora Youth League volunteer with over 30 years of service to the league. As we remember his service by naming this award in his honor.

- **2022 Eddie Cardozo** is a long-time volunteer staff member serving the league as a board member since 2017. He has been responsible for equipment, fields and he has served as a division coordinator. In addition to being part of the core volunteers of EYLL, he has managed teams a team when called upon.
- **2021 Elba Rojas** has managed the kitchen for the league since 2017. In this role, she orders the food and makes sure we are well stocked for game day. She also created some of the procedures we follow
- **2020 Jose Rojas** is a leader in the Elmora Youth Little League, serving us since 2014. Over the years, he has been in the role of League Vice President, Communications and Rules. Jose was the face of EYLL staff and volunteers during the 2019 LLWS. He has also managed teams over the years starting in 2013 and he led several successful district teams.

## Past O'Grady Award Winners

2022 – Eddie Cardozo 2021 – Elba Rojas 2020 – Jose Rojas 2019 – Susana Borga 2018 – Mark Weis 2017 – Michael Farinha 2016 – Alexandra Corticada 2015 – Alex Chappotin 2014 – Richard Duran

2013 – Lily Duran & Betsy Hernandez

2012 – Jorge Vazquez

2011 – Michele Del Cueto 2010 – Ralph Abbate Past Farrell Award Winners 2009 – Diane lazzetta 2008 – Neelje Barrueco

2007 – Bob Mack 2006 – Lou Bani & Anne Burd

2005 – Bob Hydock & Gloria Rodriguez 2004 – Lorraine Connor

2003 – Ed Sisk

2002 – Gabe Barrueco & Michael Glogowski

In the past this award was given out to honor the memory of Tom Farrell. Tom was an EYL Executive Board Member and Coach from 1998 to 2001.